Media Encourage to Enter Their Work to Win Awards

Share |

June 12, 2019

Anthony Capron, president of The Bahamas Press Club, has announced that submissions are now being accepted from media personnel seeking to win one of the prestigious Bahamas Press Club awards at their annual event, this year being held on November 16 at the British Colonial Hilton.

The announcement was made at a launch event sponsored by the winner of the 2018 Pioneer/Trailblazer Award, The Punch newspaper publisher and editor, Ivan Johnson. In announcing the opening for the media related submissions, Press Club president Anthony Capron said: “This is the fifth annual awards, where we come to recognize the excellent work produced in the Bahamian media over the previous year.

I can share with you now that two outstanding Bahamians have already been selected for top awards on the night.

The Pioneer/Trailblazer award will go to the former Prime Minister, the Rt. Hon. Hubert A Ingraham for his opening up of the airwaves with radio frequency Licences in 1990, and The Etienne Dupuch Lifetime Achievement Award will this year go to Broadcast Journalist and Diplomat, Mr. Ed Bethel.”

The Press Club president said that every year the awards event gets more exciting and the competition more fierce.

“As a former journalist myself I understand the satisfaction we feel when we see our work in print or on television; we like it when someone says to us, ‘good story’ or ‘excellent article.’

“We feel good in knowing that we produced a well-balanced TV/radio news report, a thought provoking documentary, or that our photographs have gained wide attention.

But beyond that, we believe it is even better to receive public recognition, which we seek to give you through The Bahamas Press Club’s annual awards.”

Mr. Capron explained that all work being submitted has to have been published/aired between Nov. 1, 2018 and Aug. 1, 2019. The deadline for entries is August 2, 2019. Entries may be submitted to HYPERLINK "" -more- “There are 24 award categories, sufficient for everyone in media to have the opportunity to vie for the ‘red carpet, ceremonial award’ on the big night! All entries for the 24 categories have to be submitted for perusal by our expert panel of judges by August 2.

Additionally, we give the public a chance to weigh in on our industry talent by asking them to vote in the ‘People’s Choice Awards,’ which is conducted by online poll voting.

That category will include: Best Radio Talk Show; Best Radio Talk Show Host; Best TV Talk Show; Best TV Talk Show Host; and Best Radio Personality.”

The Etienne Dupuch Lifetime Achievement Award
The Pioneer/Trailblazer Award
The PAHO/WHO Excellence in Health Promotion Award
The Bahamas Press Club Student Media Award
The Eric Wilmott Award for Investigative Journalism
The Harcourt “Rusty” Bethel Award for Radio Journalism
The Leon Turnquest Award for Sports Print Journalism
The Phil Smith Outstanding Sports Broadcast Journalism Award
The Bursell Bradshaw Press Photographer of The Year Award (Best Photo)
The Kenneth Nathaniel Francis Award for Newspaper Design and Composition
The P Anthony White Award for Columnist of The Year
The Leslie Higgs Feature Writer of The Year Award
The Cyril Stevenson Award for Outstanding Political Journalism
The Award for Best Television Documentary
The Award for Best Television News Story
The Award for Best News Story, Print
Cameraman of the Year Award

The Award for Best Editing for Television News Story or Documentary
Website of the Year
Best Cinematography Award (Documentary)
Best Video Editing Award
Best Producer Award
Best Producer Award
Best Newscast
Best Radio Talk Show
Best Radio Talk Show Host
Best TV Talk Show
Best TV Talk Show Host
Best Radio Personality – (DJ, announcer... etc.

The Bahamas Press Club (BPC) has announced that Media personnel have the opportunity to win a prestigious industry award by submitting to them for judging, a piece of their work published or aired between November 1, 2018 and August 1, 2019.
Every year The Bahamas Press Club award the country's most talented journalists for their work in print, broadcast, photography, and digital media during their annual gala banquet in November. L to R: BPC former president Anthony Newbold; BPC media awards judge and former journalist, Pauline Seymour; BPC secretary Lindsay Thompson, PAHO-WHO awards sponsor Ms. Esther de Gourville, the Pan American Health Organisation-World Health Organisation; former journalist and diplomat Ed Bethel; BPC president Anthony Capron; BPC judge Paul Turnquest; BPC judge Raphael Munnings. Photo: Vincent Vaughan,

News date : 06/12/2019    Category : About Bahamians, Press Releases

Share |