The Bahamian Icon Awards: 2018 Nominees Announced

Share |

May 30, 2018

The Bahamian Icon Awards organizing committee, sponsors and partners are proud to announce our 2018 Nominees. The public was asked to submit persons they wished to be considered for nomination through our website, Over 1000 candidates were received from across the country. The Bahamian Icon Awards Organizing Committee has selected the following nominees from those submissions:

1. Ryan Knowles H.G. Christie
2. Dominic Sturrup Bahamas Striping Group of Companies
3. Albert Storr Bahamasair
4. Cassandra Nottage Regulatory and Financial Sector Consultants, Ltd.
5. Tanya McCartney Bahamas Financial Services Board

EDUCATION—Presented by Carpet World
1. Cheryl Johnson Newell Bahamas Down Syndrome and Friends Center
2. Felicity Humblestone The Lyford Cay Foundation
3. Laurenne McDonald The Volunteer Reading Project
4. Monique Hinsey The Ministry of Education
5. Fr. Sazzasbazzar Turnquest St. John's College

MEDIA—Presented by REV
1. Jerome Sawyer "On The Record"
2. Kristina McNeil-Dragovich "Our News Year in Review"
3. NL Aubrey Smith "Those From Shallow Waters"
4. Rogan Smith "This Thing Go With Sense"
5. Anastarsia Palacious and Philip Simon "Bahamas at Sunrise"
6. Timothy Bain "Whoodat"

1. "The New Sawyerboy Show" Timico Sawyer, Producer
2. "On The Record" Tanya Smith Cartwright, Jerome Sawyer, Producers
3. Dominos Pizza 'Cheezy Wedding Shirlen Godet, Producer
4. "Our News 2017 Year In Review Valdez Ferguson, Vaughnique Toote, Producers
5. "The Next Face Bahamas" Shawn Hanna, Producer

1. "Keeping Up With The Boujees" Kerel Pinder, Producer
2. "Once On This Island" Philip Burrows and Adrian Archer, Producers
3. "2017 Bahamas Indendence Cultural Show" Erin Knowles, Producer
4. "Dirty Laundry" Rakel Dean, Writer
5. "All of Me" Michaella forbes, Writer

1. Demetrius Smith The Kareoke King
2. Sonovia Pierre "Goddess", Once On This Island
3. Scott Adderley "Papa Ge", Once On This Island
4. Jaquay Adderley "Bertrum The Bubbla" Unorthodox Entertainment
5. Deangelo Brown "Brian", "All of Me"

1. Lowree Tynes Lowree Tynes Designs, Abaco
2. Lavardo Smith Get Fit With Smith
3. Dr. Showalter Johnson Commonwealth Embassy
4. Diane Morley Coles of Nassau
5. Jay and Hilda Forbes Tasty Teas

FINE ART-Presented by the Ministry of Youth Sports and Culture
1. Jerome Miller "Liquid of Joy"
2. Theodore Elyett Theodore Elyett Designs
3. Jamal Rolle The Celebrity Artist
4. Minolta Butler The Coffee Lady
5. Anya Wilique Wilique Handbags

1. Dr. Winston Forbes Medical Pavilion, Grand Bahama
2. Dr. Richard Knowles Imperial Optical
3. Dr. Shantalasha Knowles Advanced Women's Health Center
4. Dr. Kim Scriven Hear Life Clinic

HUMANITARIANISM – Presented by the Rubis Bahamas, Ltd.
1. Lincoln Deal Hashtag Lunch Bag
2. Bishop Walter Hanchel Great Commission Ministries
3. Barry Rassin Rotary International
4. Jackie Gibson Cancer Society of The Bahamas, Eleuthera Branch
5. Alanna Rodgers Hands For Hunger

MUSIC—Presented by Kalik
1. Lady E "Kill Dat Roach"
2. Qpid “Gimme We Culture”
3. Sammie Star “It Is What It Is”
4. Funky D “Ways of a Woman”
5. Julien Believe “Rollin It”
6. Tingum Dem “I Don't Wanna Dance”

SPORTS – Presented by Kalik
1. Steven Gardiner Track and Field
2. Byron Ferguson Volleyball
3. Yolett Mcphee McCuin Women's Basketball, Jacksonville University
4. Giovani Johnson Kickboxing
5. Lucius Fox, Jr Baseball

TOURISM –Presented by the Bahamas Ministry of Tourism and Aviation
1. Jennifer Ellis Grand Lucayan Resort, Grand Bahama
2. Patterson Smith 4C's Adventures, Exuma
3. Carlton Russell The Bahamas Hotel and Tourism Association
4. Anthony Stuart Bahamas Ministry of Tourism, Europe
5. Robert Sands Kamalame Cay

1. David Charlton Star Trackers Track Club
2. Paul Frazier, Jr. Junior Achievement, Grand Bahama
3. Happy Hall Youth Empowerment Through Soccer International
4. Therena Cunningham S.T.R.A.W. INC, Center for Young Women
5. Georgette Rolle Fourteen Clubs Golf Academy


1. Ali Knowles Ali K Photography
2. Navado Dawkins The Navishon Brand
3. Khalea Richards The Bahamas Ministry of Tourism, Abaco
4. Dearsheray Brown DJ Melody
5. Chase Carter Img Models

The 2018 Bahamian Icon Award for lifetime achievement is presented by ALIV and will be presented to Gail North Saunders for her trans-generational contributions to nation building
Winners will be announced at the 2018 Bahamian Icon Awards Ceremony held at Melia Nassau Beach on July 7, 2018. The show will be broadcast live on Our TV with Red Carpet coverage beginning at 5:30 p.m. and the awards ceremony beginning promptly at 8 pm. Tickets are on sale now from any member of the Icon Committee or at

About the Bahamian Icon Awards
Established in 2013, The Bahamian Icon Awards acknowledges the exemplary achievements of men and women who have excelled in various industries thus contributing to the overall development of the Bahamian community. Our mission is to provide an achievable goal that inspires and encourages consistent efforts to achieve excellence and the fostering of good will.

Bahamian Icon Awards 2018

News date : 05/30/2018    Category : Entertainment, Press Releases

Share |