Future of Democracy Conference Welcomes Trinidadian Anti-Corruption Expert to Keynote Stage

Share |

July 17, 2017

The Future of Democracy Conference, the University of The Bahamas’ annual conference on Bahamian democracy and citizen action, is pleased to announce Trinidadian anti-corruption expert Justice Zainool Hosein as the key note speaker for this year’s event. The keynote address, sponsored by The Organization for Responsible Governance will be close the first day of the conference, July 21st.

The Chairman of Trinidad & Tobago’s Integrity Commission, Justice Hosein is an authority on issues of anti-corruption and is known in his home country for his robust voice on matters of integrity in public life. Mr. Hosein’s address at the conference will focus on achieving and enforcing anti-corruption reform.

The retired Court of Appeals Justice has a long history with justice and rule of law having received the Chaconia Medal Gold (1999) for long and meritorious service to the Republic of Trinidad in the sphere of Law.

A 1962 graduate of University of Sheffield in the United Kingdom, he was elevated in 1966 to the bar of Lincoln’s Inn and practiced in both the UK and Trinidad and Tobago before being appointed a Judge of the High Court of Trinidad and Tobago in 1983.

“We are very excited to have Justice Hosein from the Trinidad Integrity Commission because we in The Bahamas can draw on the lessons Trinidad and Tobago has learned in trying to not only ensure honesty and integrity in those who hold public office but also in the citizenry.

Let's face it, our representatives reflect us as a people. If we want politicians with integrity we must first value integrity as a society, as a people.”

Back for its second year, The Future of Democracy Conference will be held July 21st and 22nd at the Harry C. Moore Library Auditorium at the University of The Bahamas.

Justice Hosein joins a line-up of expert panelists from academia, civil society, law, and politics speaking on democracy and governance in Bahamas, creating systemic change, and bringing power to the people.

The speaker line-up includes: Brenda Harris, Nicolette Bethel, Loretta Butler-Turner, Terneille Burrows, Stephen B. Aranha, Zhivargo S. Laing, Bridget S. Hogg, Nantino Thompson, Llewelyn Curling, Lemarque Campbell, Steffon Josey, Erin Greene, Lynden Nairn, Niambi Hall-Campbell, William Fielding, Alicia Wallace, Arvis Mortimer, Matt Aubry, Ian Bethel-Bennett, Leyvon Miller, and Youri Kemp.

A central feature of the conference is the citizen workshop segment where attendees are invited to work together to build advocacy skills and generate solutions in key topics such as creating a virtual People’s Parliament, Immigration Reform, Constitutional Reform, Public Disclosure and Gender Equality.

The Conference and workshops are open to all and free of charge.

News date : 07/17/2017    Category : About Bahamians, Press Releases

Share |